‘A Little Life’ by Hanya Yanagihara

10 Replies to “‘A Little Life’ by Hanya Yanagihara”

  1. This book has been so highly praised by so many people. And during the Tournament of Books that just ended, there were some great discussions about this book. For some reason, though, I don’t feel very compelled to read it. I fear the misery might overwhelm me. But if it makes it onto the shortlist, then I might have to read it after all.

    1. Yeah it can be quite mentally draining to read but was so beautifully written. I really hope it makes it onto the short list.

    1. Yeah I have read ‘The Green Road’ by Anne Enright and I am currently reading ‘The Long Way To a Small Angry Planet’. I also have ‘The Glorious Heresies’ lined up to read next and that will probably be all until the shortlist is announced. You?

  2. Great book, I just had to click in and read your review to see what you made of it. From the reviews I’d read, I was expecting it to be miserable before I read it, and it was, but what has stayed with me in the long term is the amazing love and commitment of Willem. And the scene outside the greenhouse has to be one of the most searing and memorable ever written.

    1. Yeah the moments of love and friendship were beautiful and well worth reading despite the misery that pervaded the novel.

Leave a Reply

