May Recap!

IMG_3361

May has been a very quiet month which has seen my reading improve ever so slightly (though I couldn’t get much worse than last month, with only one book read!). I am afraid to say I did not make any progress, whatsoever, on Simone de Beauvoir’s The Second Sex. I did attempt to read some but when I opened up to where I left off I realised I could barely remember anything. I think my next plan of action will be solely to focus on The Second Sex from start to finish, with no breaks. I may not understand everything that way, but at least I would get the jist of it and may be more inclined to reread it again and again. I did, however, get round to reading Ali Smith’s brilliant novel, which has been shortlisted for the Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction, How to Be Both. It is easily one of the best novels I have read this year, though it is taking me a very long time to express my thoughts into a blog post. I made it to the Invader exhibition, Wipe Out, in Central this month. It was very interesting to see some of his work and see photographs of his original work that was plastered around Hong Kong on the numerous trips he made here. Sadly, most of them were taken down by the Highway Agency but I was able to spot an original whilst walking around Tsim Sha Tsui the other week (see the pictures below, at least I think it’s an original).

Currently reading:

  • Sex and the Citadel by Shereen El Feki
  • To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Books read in May:

May in pictures:

May Recap!

Looking forward to June!

I don’t have much planned in June other than to save money for my next (and last) holiday to Japan! I go in the second week of July so, in the mean time, I hope to do some more research of what I want to see and watch a few documentaries or films based in or about Japan. If anyone has any recommendations, I would really appreciate it. I may even try and fit in a book by a Japanese author before I go. I am also eagerly anticipating the announcement of the Baileys Women’s Prize For Fiction. As I am seven hours ahead here in Hong Kong, I will have to wait until tomorrow morning to find out the news. If the winner is one of the books I haven’t read yet, I may treat myself to a copy to read in June.

Leave a Reply

