April Recap!

IMG_2868 April has been very busy, I almost forget that I went to Shanghai right at the start of the month (it feels so long ago now!). China was a very different experience to Hong Kong, even though I went from one big city to another. Shanghai itself was beautiful in places and so was the ancient water town I visited, Tongli, however, the parts inbetween were not as inviting. Last week I had my friend from university visiting from the UK. It was such a lovely week. I was able to have the whole time off work so not only was it a holiday for my friend, but it was also the first time I was able to explore Hong Kong as a tourist. I can see why people come here for a holiday. Hong Kong seems to offer the best of everything from brilliant views and hikes to food and shopping. I don’t always get to appreciate it when I am working so it was a nice break. On the Wednesday we experienced an outdoor Shakespeare performance (called Shakespeare in the Port). We decided to see Lear and, not surprisingly, I recognised some of the actors from The Vagina Monologues, which I saw in February (there really is a small expat community here). The performance was good, they made some interesting changes to the plot, but I think I will plan a separate post for this. In terms of reading, I didn’t make much progress this month and only managed to finish one book! I did, however, start reading a couple of interesting magazines that I found in Kubrick (obviously) so I didn’t completely abandon reading this month.

Currently reading:

  • Wild by Cheryl Strayed
  • The Second Sex by Simone de Beavoir

Books read in April:

  • The Bees by Laline Paull

Bookshops visited in April:

April in pictures: April Recap Looking forward to May!

May will hopefully be a quieter month where I can relax and read, read, read! It turns out that May happens to be French month in Hong Kong so I am hoping to go and see some French films at the Broadway Cinematheque. I am also on my way to go and see an exhibition in Central by the French artist, Invader, which will hopefully be interesting. He has been ‘invading’ cities around the world for decades with his incredibly distinctive style of pixellated video game-esque street-art and this will be his fifth (?) time in Hong Kong. When he was here last year he transformed the streets with his art but it was sadly removed. In keeping with Le French May I am going to continue ploughing on with Simone de Beauvoir’s The Second Sex, I doubt I will finish it within the month but hopefully I will make more progress than I did in April!

3 Replies to “April Recap!”

    1. I had never heard of Cheryl Strayed until watching the movie. I will have to look out for Tiny Beautiful Things, she is a good writer.

Leave a Reply

