March Recap!

DSC_0329

As you can see the month of March still hasn’t brought me any closer to blogging as regularly as I used to. I am slowly trying to make the effort to write everyday (in my draft posts), even if it is only for a short period. I am snatching moments of time to fit in reading and writing – on my lunch breaks and in the evenings after a tiring day of work. Though, recently, my reading pace has haltered as I try and read Simone de Beauvoir’s huge – in physical size and in influence – text, The Second Sex. Although I am enjoying it immensely – de Beauvoir’s intelligence and wit is astounding – I have found myself gathering a long list of secondary reading or research that I feel would help me understand the text more (and I am only 4% into my kindle edition). If anyone has any suggestions of decent ‘philosophy for beginners’-type books I would very much appreciate it! Other than that, March has been a very quiet month. I did however, find a bargain second-hand bookshop last week on Hong Kong Island called Spirit. The prices were so cheap I couldn’t believe it! I bought Charlotte Roche’s bestseller, Wetlands, for $8 Hong Kong Dollars, which works out to be around 60-70p! It took all of my strength to walk away with only the one book!

Currently reading:

  • The Bees by Laline Paull
  • The Second Sex by Simone de Beauvoir
  • Emily Dickinson: The Complete Poems edited by Thomas H. Johnson

Books read in March (and February):

  • The Woman Destroyed by Simone de Beauvoir
  • Lila by Marilynne Robinson
  • Queen of Statue Square: New Short Fiction from Hong Kong by Marshall Moore
  • This is my heart, it’s a good heart by B. Wing

Bookshops visited in March (and February):

March in pictures:

March Recap

Looking forward to April!

At the end of this week I will be taking my first step into the ‘mainland’. I will be visiting Shanghai for a nice long weekend over Easter and cannot wait to experience ‘real’ China and see how different it is to Hong Kong. Though I expect a huge city like Shanghai won’t be too much of a culture shock, I intend to spend one day outside of the city to visit one of the ancient water towns (I haven’t decided which one yet). I will also make sure to seek out any book-related tourism (if any). In mid-April I have a whole week off work as my friend from university is coming over. I can’t wait to see a familiar face and show her all the tourist ‘must-see’ sights, as well as the more hidden aspects of Hong Kong that you wouldn’t normally see if you were just on holiday for a week. I plan to take her hiking, sightseeing and, of course, no trip to Hong Kong would be complete without an afternoon at Kubrick browsing books and eating carrot cake (which is how I spent my last Sunday)! I also hope to improve upon the number of blog posts I have been uploading to my blog. It will happen slowly but surely!

6 Replies to “March Recap!”

  1. I think Jostein Gaarder’s Sophie’s World is a good place to start because introduces most of the basic philosophical works of the Western world through the medium of fiction.

    1. Thank you for the suggestion. The fact that it is written within fiction really appeals to me, I will have to look that up!

  2. Looks like a great month! I can’t wait until my copy of The Bees arrives! I’ve only ever read chapters of The Second Sex but I have it back on my shelf to conquer eventually.

    1. I would be interested to see what you think of The Bees. I’m about a third of the way through, I won’t say too much but it’s a very interesting idea! I know, The Second Sex has been sitting on my shelf for too long and I have only ever read excerpts. It’s a daunting book!

  3. I’ve got The Bees on my shelf ready to read, I’ll be interested in reading how you found it.

    Enjoy your travels into China!

    (p.s. It’s lovely to have you blogging again)

Leave a Reply

