January Recap!

IMG_0290 January has seen the re-emergence of blogging in my life again! Although I am still not posting as regularly as I used to, or hope to be, I finally made the time to write a couple of blog posts. My life has been a bit hectic over the last five-six months and I haven’t had as much time to sit down and write as I would have liked to, but I have missed blogging and the blogging community, so hope to get back into it again. In terms of reading this month, I have definitely picked up the pace. I read a total of three books, which is more than I have read in the first five months of moving to Hong Kong! I also visited (or mainly stumbled accidentally across) a few new bookshops, most of them secondhand, and accumulated three new treasures which I will write about shortly. On my days off in January I have been really proactive – exploring new areas of Hong Kong and finally making the most of the brilliant hikes that are on offer here. I also ended the month back at my favourite bookshop, Kubrick, and tried out the wonderful lavender latte’s they sell. They were amazing!

Currently reading:

  • The Woman Destroyed by Simone de Beauvoir

Books read in January:

Bookshops visited in January:

  • Kubrick, Yau Ma Tei
  • Bookworm Cafe, Lamma Island
  • The Reading Room Bookshop, Sai Kung
  • Flow Bookshop, Central

January in pictures: January Recap Looking forward to February!

I have a lot of exciting things planned for February. Next week I am going to see The Vagina Monologues, which is being shown in Hong Kong to raise money for the Hong Kong Helper’s Campaign – a charity that advocates for the city’s domestic workers. My parents will also be visiting next week and I can’t wait! It will be exactly six months since I last saw them. Straight after they leave I will be heading to Taiwan to celebrate Chinese New Year. Hopefully I will also get some reading and blogging done in the midst of all of this excitement. I have a couple of books that I read before Christmas that I really want to write about as well as a write-up of the Hong Kong International Literary Festival from last November!

3 Replies to “January Recap!”

  1. Wow what a six months! That’s awesome you found a few shops that sell English second hand books. I’m not sure I could move to another country and depend solely on the internet to get English books!

  2. So glad to see you blogging again! Looks like you’ve had an amazing January and February looks to be just as wonderful. Have fun with your parents and new years!

Leave a Reply

