#sunathon 21st-27th July!

IMG_3914I will be taking part in Emma Louise‘s #sunathon this coming week, which will kick off the summer with a seven day event to read as much as possible and to bring readers together in the act of reading. Aside from the one book review I intend to post at some point this week, I will be making it my aim to get through as many of the books pictured above.

From top to bottom:

  • My Baby Shot Me Down, ed. Richard Penny – poetry and prose by ten new women writers. As the blurb on Blinding Books states: ‘Expect full-bodied and full-blooded’. Just how I like my literature!
  • Written on the Body by Jeanette Winterson – I love Jeanette Winterson’s writing so it is about time I revisited her work. Written on the Body is a story of ‘self-discovery made through the metaphors of desire and disease’.
  • Living Dolls: The Return of Sexism by Natasha Walter – inspired by reading Laura Bates’ Everyday Sexism a few weeks ago, I have had Walter’s book sitting on my shelf for months and it follows a similar message of the damaging effects of sexism in society today, though it was published a couple of years before the inception of the everyday sexism project, in 2010. As a Guardian review states, Walter ‘paints a frightening picture of the personal’.
  • The Rehearsal by Eleanor Catton – after reading her Man Booker prize-winning novel, The Luminaries, I have been eager to read her debut novel. Revolving around a high school scandal, The Rehearsal could not sound more different to her Victorian-esque sensation novel, The Luminaries.

I have no idea which order I will read these in – I will decide on my mood at the time – though I have deliberately picked a variety of books to get through this following week, from fiction, non-fiction, poetry and prose. Hopefully I will have a successful #sunathon!

I will be tracking my progress via Twitter @RoseYasmineRose.

7 Replies to “#sunathon 21st-27th July!”

  1. I’m taking part in sunathon too and luckily it coincides with my holiday to Malta so although I might disappear from tweeting and blogging as of Thursday at least I should get lots of reading done. Enjoy

    1. That sounds like the perfect set up for reading! I’m jealous! Enjoy Malta, do you know what you will be reading?

      1. Thank you. I am going completely chick lit with Giovanni Fletcher’s Billy and Me, Katie Fforde’s A French Affair and Fiona Walker’s Kiss and Tell. I need good girly reads if I’m on holiday.

Leave a Reply

