June Recap!

IMG_3376
Regents Park

Unlike May, June has been a very exciting month filled with many literary delights. Not only did I spend a lovely evening at the shortlist readings for the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction, visit the new Foyles on Charing Cross Road and visit the Globe theatre to see Titus Andronicus all in the same week but I also managed to read eight books this month!! I am completely amazed by this as I only ever manage to read four books on average (I know one of the books, Blubeard, was extremely short but it still counts!). I took part in the Angela Carter Week, hosted by Caroline at Beauty Is a Sleeping Cat and Delia at Postcards From Asia, which had a very positive impact on the amount of reading that I did and I just want to thank them again for such a wonderful event. It was great to see so many people get involved and to read so many different opinions on Carter’s work. I also received some of my first review copies this month via BookBridgr and, in an effort to keep up with the digital age, I have discovered the wonders of Twitter and Instagram! It’s all still a bit new to me but it has opened up a whole other dimension to book blogging.

 Currently reading:

  • Strange Girls and Ordinary Women by Morgan McCarthy
  • Nothing Sacred by Angela Carter

Books read in June:

  • The Secret History by Donna Tartt (review coming soon)
  • Bluebeard by Angela Carter
  • Love by Angela Carter
  • Fireworks by Angela Carter
  • The Good Children by Roopa Farooki
  • The Lemon Grove by Helen Walsh
  • Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates (review coming soon)
  • We Are Called to Rise by Laura McBride (review coming soon)

Bookshops visited:

  • Foyles, Charing Cross Road (review coming soon)

Theatre:

Interesting bookish-related articles I’ve been reading in June:

Interesting audio clips I’ve been listening to in June:

June in pictures:

June

Looking forward to July:

In terms of reading I have no idea what will be in store for July yet. I have seen Emma Louise‘s #sunathon all over Twitter – a wonderful new book blogger I have just discovered (new to me anyway!). After the Angela Carter week, where I just focused on reading, I think a readathon will be a great way of getting through the stacks of books I will have to leave behind when I move to Hong Kong. I will also be going to Bruges with my mum in a couple of weeks, which should be a nice, relaxing mini-break where I can cram in a little bit more reading (particularly on the Eurostar). July will also be my last month of work, I will be finishing at the end of the month so that I have almost two weeks to sort my life out before moving! I can’t believe how quickly this year has gone so far!

8 Replies to “June Recap!”

  1. Going to the shortlist readings must have been amazing… wish I’d been there. I hope you loved the Secret History, it’s one of my favorites. Good luck with your move!

    1. I really did love The Secret History – I am still trying to write a post that expresses how much I enjoyed it! The shortlist readings really was an amazing experience. I wish I could go next year as well! Thank you!

  2. Sounds like it’s been a lovely month! I haven’t visited the new Foyles yet, so I’m looking forward to reading your review of it. Good luck with your move!

    1. I only had time to quickly explore the fiction section so I think another visit is in order sometime this month. It is huge!! Thank you.

  3. I just added you on Twitter, thought I was already following you!

    Eight books is amazing, June has been a wonderfully bookish month for you.

Leave a Reply

