May Recap!

IMG_1735After an exciting April, where I had two weekends off in a row (unheard of in my world!) that saw me travel down to Brighton and up to Lincolnshire where we had such wonderful weather, I was worried that May would seem a little flat in comparison. I was back to working every single weekend and didn’t have anything exciting to look forward to, also the weather has been up and down – one minute like a summer’s day, the next windy and raining. However, I did manage to complete my Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction challenge before the readings at the Southbank Centre next Tuesday and the announcement of the winner on Wednesday 4th! Although I didn’t have anything planned for May I was transported all over the world, from India to America to Ireland to Germany in the 1940s and to Iceland in the nineteenth century, with these shortlisted books. I cannot state enough how much I enjoyed them and how grateful I am to the prize for opening up my reading horizons! I also managed to fit in two trips to bookshops (though one was an outdoor market) and I caught the last day of the Alchemy Festival at the Southbank Centre on Bank Holiday Monday, which saw me eat lots of great Indian food and enjoy free Indian dancing and live music. Despite the weather being atrocious, it didn’t hinder my enjoyment at all.

Currently reading:

  • The Secret History by Donna Tartt

Books read in May:

Books started but abandoned:

  • The Female Quixote by Charlotte Lennox – Again I have failed with my Classics Spin. I did try and start The Female Quixote but a few pages in I was pretty sure that the spelling errors I encountered weren’t due to authentic eighteenth-century English, but the very poor (and cheap) edition I acquired off Amazon.

Bookshops visited:

Interesting bookish-related articles I’ve been reading in May:

May in pictures:

May CollageLooking forward to June!

I’m not yet sure which books I will be reading in June but I do know that the majority of them will be Angela Carter books, thanks to the Angela Carter Week hosted by Caroline at Beauty Is A Sleeping Cat and Delia at Postcards from Asia from the 8th-15th June. I also have the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction Shortlist readings at the Southbank Centre to look forward to, as well as a trip to the Globe to see Shakespeare’s bloodiest tragedy, Titus Andronicus (I’m hoping my dad doesn’t faint!).

9 Replies to “May Recap!”

    1. My personal favourite is Nights At The Circus, though I haven’t read Wise Children for years. I think Wise Children was the first book I ever read of hers!

    1. I love Brighton, I went to uni at Sussex so lived down there for three years. It is wonderful any time of the year!

  1. Brighton! Hope you had fun there. Are you going to the readings tomorrow at the South Bank Centre? I shall be living vicariously through you if you are, I couldn’t take the time off work to come up.

    I’ve only read one Angela Carter book (Heroes and Villains) which I loved, be interesting to read your reviews on her other books. I’m also looking forward to your Goldfinch review!

    1. Yes I will be at the Southbank Centre for the readings. Donna Tartt won’t be there but there are still five other wonderful authors to listen to! I think Heroes and Villains will be on my list for the Angela Carter week, it is one that I haven’t read yet and already own! Glad to hear you loved it!

      I loved The Goldfinch so much. I am now reading The Secret History, which I saw you didn’t get into but I am loving that as well! I think Donna Tartt may be one of my favourite new authors (even though she has been publishing almost as long as I have been alive)!

      1. I am going to have to try again with The Secret History now I’ve loved The Goldfinch. Hopefully it was a case of trying to read it at the wrong time. I’ll probably wait for your review first though, you’re my literary guide right now.

Leave a Reply

