Classics Club Spin #6!

It is that time again for another Classics Club Spin. I have tried to participate twice before. The first time I got landed with Vladimir Nabokov’s Lolita, which I am truly glad I finally read. However, the second spin saw me completely fail to read Chinua Achebe’s African Trilogy. I have read Things Fall Apart before and really enjoyed it, but I wasn’t really feeling it this time around. I think for the Classics Club Spin #6 I will only list books I feel like reading right now (and only ones that I already own) – hopefully I will have more success with this method! I also realise that I still have four of the shortlisted Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction books to read, but as I am planning on reading them before the 3rd June (when I go to the Southbank Centre readings), I will have plenty of time after that to complete my Classics Spin!

So the rules are as follows:

  • Pick twenty books from your Classics Club List and post that list on your blog before next Monday (12th May).
  • Next Monday a number will be chosen at random and the book on your list, which corresponds with the Classics Spin number, will be the book you read for May and June.
  • The challenge is to read the book and post your review by the 7th July!

Here’s my list (I have doubled up on the ones I really want to read, I guess you could call it cheating!):

  1. The Female Quixote by Charlotte Lennox (1752)
  2. A Vindication of the Rights of Woman by Mary Wollstonecraft (1792)
  3. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë (1847)
  4. The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton (1920)
  5. Villette by Charlotte Brontë (1853)
  6. Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell (1853)
  7. The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins (1860)
  8. The Return of the Soldier by Rebecca West (1918)
  9. The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton (1920)
  10. Quicksand by Nella Larsen (1928)
  11. Les Enfants Terribles by Jean Cocteau (1929)
  12. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley (1932)
  13. The Outsider by Albert Camus (1942)
  14. The Golden Notebook by Doris Lessing (1962)
  15. Animal Farm by George Orwell (1945)
  16. The Return of the Soldier by Rebecca West (1918)
  17. The End of the Affair by Graham Greene (1951)
  18. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller (1961)
  19. The Golden Notebook by Doris Lessing (1962)
  20. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Márquez (1985)
11 Replies to “Classics Club Spin #6!”

  1. So many good books on there; Wuthering Heights, The End of the Affair, Animal Farm, Love in the Time of Cholera, even The Woman in White is an interesting read.

    Good luck! I hope you get the one you’re after 🙂

  2. Love in the Time of Cholera seems to be a popular Spin list selection this time around. Including your list and mine, I’ve now seen it on 5 lists.

    I really enjoyed The Return of the Soldier and Brave New World. Both have become favorites of mine.

    I hope you get a pick you’ll love. Good luck!

  3. I hope the spin gives you a book you love this time. I’ve read a few from your list and my favourites are The Woman in White, Wuthering Heights and Villette, though I enjoyed The Return of the Soldier and Animal Farm as well. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

