18 Replies to “‘Burial Rites’ by Hannah Kent”

    1. I thought it was an incredible novel (and debut)! I look forward to reading whatever Hannah Kent brings out next. I wouldn’t call it a crime novel either, though the description on the back of my copy would have put me off so I am glad it was shortlisted or I never would have read it!

  1. A great review and it has certainly reinforced that I need to read this book soon. I’m glad you managed to find the radio programme too, I will have to have a relisten, that will spur me into buying the book I’m sure!

  2. Wasn’t it a great book? The ending was powerful! I’m glad you liked this book as much as I did.
    I see you are now reading A Girl Is a Half-formed Thing. I can’t quite bring myself to start that one, so I’m looking forward to your review.

    1. It really was, I couldn’t put it down! A Girl Is A Half-formed Thing is also really good once you get past the experimental and fragmentary prose. Though it does get a bit easier to read after a while.

    1. I can’t believe it either, it was a stunning novel. I haven’t been gripped by a book like that in ages!

    1. It definitely will be! I have read two, and I’m half way through my third book in the shortlist, and they just keep getting better and better. So far the three I have read are so different, I don’t know how you could judge them!

  3. I have lost count of the number of reviews of Burial Rites that I have now read. The more I read the more I know I am going to have to read it myself one of these days.

    1. Yes, you will have to experience it for yourself! Words cannot do justice to Kent’s beautifully poetic writing style.

Leave a Reply

