April Recap!

IMG_1431

I have been toying with the idea of starting these end-of-month recaps that I have seen many blogs do for months now. It seems like the perfect way to keep track of what I have been reading (and doing) each month, especially as I am finding that this year has completely flown by. I cannot believe that it is the 1st of May already! Anyway, April has been a great month for reading, book-buying and spending some quality time with family and friends as I was able to take some time off work and relax! I managed to travel down to Brighton one weekend for a friend’s birthday and over Easter weekend I finally saw the new house my parents have bought in the beautifully peaceful countryside of Lincolnshire (pictured above is one of the many rapeseed fields in bloom that surrounded the house). I was also able to visit Lincoln for the first time and discovered three great bookshops (as well as the stunning Cathedral).

Currently reading:

  • Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

Books read in April:

Bookshops visited in April:

Interesting bookish-related articles I’ve been reading in April:

April in pictures:

April Collage 1Looking forward to May!

I don’t think I will normally list what I will read in the following month, but because of my personal project to read all of the shortlisted Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction before the readings at the Southbank Centre in June, I will be seeing how many of these I can get through in May:

  • A Girl Is A Half-formed Thing by Eimear McBride
  • The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri
  • The Undertaking by Audrey Magee
  • The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

6 Replies to “April Recap!”

  1. I like doing a monthly round up to see how much reading each month and what I have been reading, but there is no way I could write what I intend to read as it completely depends on my mood. Hope you are enjoying Burial Rites, I look forward to reading your comments on it.

    1. Yeah, it’s a great way to easily see how much reading you have done all in one post!

      I am really enjoying Burial Rites, almost finished!

  2. Very excited to see you are reading Burial Rites, I look forward to your blog on that.

    Try A Girl is a Half Formed thing first if you can this month, it’s a strange read. I think it was you who told me it was a stream of conciousness? Once you get into it you get used to it, but I did at times feel like I was missing things in favour of the post-modern form.

    1. I have been meaning to read your review of Burial Rites but wanted to wait until I had finished reading it! I think I will try A Girl Is A Half-formed Thing next though I can imagine I will have the same problem, though I have heard nothing but good things about it.

  3. Great recap and the fields around your parents house look wonderful! I just want to go find a relatively open place and put a blanket down and read for hours.

Leave a Reply

