Baileys Women’s Prize For Fiction Shortlist Challenge!

IMG_1289

In preparation for the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction Readings at the Southbank Centre in June, I have made it my personal mission to read all of the shortlisted books (pictured above)! The event at the South Bank, London, sees all six shortlisted authors – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Eimear McBride, Jhumpa Lahiri, Hannah Kent, Audrey Magee and Donna Tart – read and discuss their work. It will be great to know what each novel is about so I have a greater understanding of the discussions, though I guess it will be equally as interesting not to read them all and see which ones take your fancy!

As Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is the only author whose work I have read before (and I am currently almost finished Americanah, which has not let me down!) I am most excited to hear her talk. However, this may change as I read through the shortlist. I can’t wait to get through them all in the next couple of months!

13 Replies to “Baileys Women’s Prize For Fiction Shortlist Challenge!”

  1. I really want to read The Undertaking, but it is not scheduled to be published in the U.S. until the fall. And I don’t think I’ll manage to read all the shortlisted books before the winner is announced, especially since I am not that enthusiastic about The Goldfinch. But as I have the goal to read all the books that have been shortlisted since 2000, I plan on reading them all eventually. Good luck with your mission; I’m looking forward to your reviews.

    1. That’s an interesting goal! I haven’t really heard much about the Undertaking until I saw that it was shortlisted, it must have slipped under my radar.

  2. I’m doing the same thing! Although, I’m not sure I’ll get them all read by June. Good luck with the challenge 😀

    (Two of the books don’t really speak to me, but I think I should probably push myself out of my comfort zone and read them regardless.)

    1. Which two books don’t speak to you? I think the only one I’m cautious about reading is A Girl Is A Half-formed Thing just because it is quite experimental. I tried to read a couple of pages when I first bought it and it is different to anything I have ever read before.

      1. That’s actually the one I’ve just ordered, I’m quite excited about that one. Jhumpa Lahiri – The Lowland and Audrey Magee – The Undertaking were the ones I’m not sure I’ll enjoy.

  3. I heard a really interesting discussion on Burial Rights a few months ago on Radio 4 and I have been meaning to pick it up ever since, so I look forward to your thoughts on it!

    1. I have just started Burial Rites now! I will look up the discussion on Radio 4 when I finish, does it give away any spoilers?

      1. I don’t think it does, but this was a few months ago. It certainly didn’t give away any ending as I wouldn’t still want to read it if it did. I think it was on Open Book or something similar as I can vaguely remember Mariella Frostup

  4. I am doing the same thing as you (as I am also going to the Southbank Centre readings). I’ve read them all but The Lowland at the moment and so far they are all very good and I’m so glad I decided to do it as some I would probably never have picked up on my own. One so far has been particularly stand out to me though so I am interested to see what you think of them all.

    Also I was having a nose around your blog at your MA challenge and I also was at the talk she did about Maddaddam last year. I haven’t got to the last one in the trilogy yet and only read The Handmaid’s Tale aside from that but she’s definitely one of my favourite (living) authors. She’s just fascinating to listen to talk, her intelligence is extraordinary.

    1. That’s exciting!! I can’t wait for the shortlist readings at the Southbank Centre! I am just onto my second book out of the shortlist now, Burial Rites, which I don’t think I would have picked up otherwise, but I am enjoying it so much. It is such a gripping read and I literally can’t put it down! Which one has stood out for you? I am intrigued!

      I absolutely love Margaret Atwood. She was so interesting to listen to wasn’t she? I need to read more of her work!

Leave a Reply

