New Books!

IMG_1101

I may have splurged out on some new books yesterday when I passed by my local Waterstones but I do not regret it one bit! I am extremely excited about these three books, pictured above, and cannot wait to get around to reading them.

  • Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – I have been wanting to read this book for almost a year since I first saw it in hardback. Every time I visited a bookshop I would always check to see if it was out in paperback yet but was always bitterly disappointed. However, not this time! I absolutely love Adichie’s other novels, Purple Hibiscus and Half of a Yellow Sun, so am looking forward to reading about a Nigerian family’s experience of life in America.
  • The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly by Sun-Mi Hwang – First published in South Korea in 2010, this fable has been a huge success and has only recently been translated into English. It tells the story of a hen named Sprout who wishes to be free from laying eggs for the market. Dealing with many adult themes, this tale has been likened to George Orwell’s Animal Farm.
  •  Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi – After being told about this new novel by Lady Fancifull, and reading her wonderful review, I was really intrigued by this novel. Boy, Snow, Bird is an inspired re-telling and re-imagining of the fairytale, Snow White. I already love the opening line: ‘Nobody ever warned me about mirrors’ and can’t wait to read the book!
6 Replies to “New Books!”

  1. I have a friend who is a fanatic about Oyeyemi’s work and is always encouraging me to read her. I love books that develop fairy stories, so perhaps this is the one to finally make me take the plunge.

    1. I have to admit I had never heard of Oyeyemi until this book. I didn’t realise it was actually her fifth novel! Her other books sound really interesting as well, if I like ‘Boy, Snow, Bird’ I will have to explore the rest of her work.

Leave a Reply

