Happy New Year!

IMG_0810

It is a brand new year and, therefore, the perfect opportunity to reflect on my blog so far and create some New Year’s Resolutions to keep my blog on track.

I have extremely enjoyed starting this blog back in August and have been amazed by the fact that I have actually got followers and wonderful fellow bloggers commenting on my posts! My aim for this year is to comment more on the blogs that I follow. I enjoy reading other people’s blogs though I tend to shy away from commenting on posts I liked or found interesting. This year that will not be the case!

Although I have set myself some wonderful personal challenges, such as the Angela Carter, Margaret Atwood and Persephone Project, I have not actually made much progress on these. This year I am going to focus a lot more on my personal projects. I won’t be setting myself any deadlines (as I will only try to avoid them, otherwise) but I hope that these resolutions will make me more aware of some of the reasons why I decided to set up a book blog in the first place.

I also stated in the About page that I would include reviews of key feminist (non-fiction) texts on my blog. I have a number of studies, such as Simone de Beauvoir’s The Second Sex and Germaine Greer’s The Female Eunoch, as well as a few biographies of key feminists and female writers, which I hope to read. In order for me to stay on track with these I have created a new page – The Feminist Project – to inspire me to get through these non-fiction books and broaden my knowledge of feminism.

I haven’t decided to partake in any book blog challenges for 2014. My main aim for the year is to get through my TBR pile. Inspired by Susan Hill’s Howards End is on the Landing: A Year of Reading from Home, I don’t have the courage (or will-power) to spend a whole year just reading from home (and I don’t think my TBR pile will last me a whole year), but I am going to aim to read books I already own for the first three months of 2014. This means books I have on my TBR pile as well as any re-reads. I will also look out for any short-term challenges and read-alongs throughout the year as well as continuing with my Classics Club Challenge.

I look forward to reading what everyone else’s blog-related resolutions will be! Happy New Year!

7 Replies to “Happy New Year!”

  1. I have decided to make sure I make time to read books to review as this is why I set my up my blog. I also vow to keep my review links up to date as I end up doing far too many at once. Good luck with your blog resolutions and a Happy New Year!

    1. Happy New Year! Good luck with your blog resolutions. It’s quite nice to use the new year to reflect on why you decided to start a blog in the first place.

  2. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog, Yasmine – and you should definitely comment, because there’s nothing bloggers like more than comments! Good luck with your reading in 2014 – I am trying to set myself no deadlines because, like you, I won’t keep them!

Leave a Reply

