New Books!

IMG_0168

I wasn’t planning on putting up these new books (which I bought for myself last week) but I am currently trying to get on top of my reading so I can get ahead with my book reviews for 2014. Recently I have been reading books then writing up my thoughts on my blog almost straight away. I thought it would be nice to get a little head start and be more organised (though this probably won’t last long) for the start of a fresh new year.

Last week I was talking to one of my uni friends from my English Literature course. We got on to the topic of what we had been reading and, as I fully trust her opinion and taste in books, pretty much all of these books pictured above, bar one, are her recommendations:

  • Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke – set in nineteenth-century England, at the height of the Napoleonic wars, Clarke adds some magical touches (in the form of magicians) to create a wonderfully enchanting novel.
  • The Ladies of Grace Adieu and Other Stories by Susanna Clarke – described as a mix between Austen and Angela Carter I am intrigued to see what that creates.
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman – I have never read any books by Gaiman and thought I would start with his most recent publication. Again, this is another mystical fantasy and all three of these books seem like wonderful escapist novels that I can’t wait to read.
  • The Reason I Jump by Naoki Higashida – written by a boy who has autism, this is a book I saw reviewed on a blog, though I can’t remember which one. As I am currently working with people with learning disabilities, many of which are autistic, I thought this would be a fascinating look into the mind of one boy’s story of living with autism.

But, before I get to pick which of these fascinating books (plus all the other books on my TBR pile) to read first, I have to finish reading Nabokov’s Lolita for my Classics Club Spin. I have been putting it off for far to long and now the 1st of January is quickly approaching…

12 Replies to “New Books!”

  1. Hope you enjoy The Reason I Jumped, I adored it.

    Been trying to get into Jonathan Strange and Mr Norell for years now, so I’ll be interested to see how you find it.

      1. Announced last year; no word as to when it’ll be screened yet. (It’s a BBC 6-parter, so I have high hopes.)

        I’ve just seen a release date for the film version of Michael Faber’s Under the Skin. I need to get that read ASAP! One that’s been sitting on my shelf for years.

  2. Nice book acquisitions, Yasmine! I loved ‘The Ocean at the End of the Lane’. I am planning to read ‘Jonathan Strange and Mr.Norrell’ this month. (We are doing a readalong. In case you are interested, you can find more information here and here).

      1. Nice to know that you will be joining us for the readalong, Yasmine. Looking forward to discussing Susanna Clarke’s book with you. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

