Secondhand Finds!

IMG_2782

I wasn’t meant to buy anymore books for the rest of the year but I honestly could not let these bargains pass me by. When I went to volunteer this afternoon I immediately saw another secondhand Persephone book, which still had the complimentary bookmark with it, and I just had to buy it. I then found a couple of Atwood books, which I didn’t have, and decided to give up on limiting my book-buying. I will think of it as an early Christmas treat – for myself!

So, from top to bottom:

  • The Far Cry by Emma Smith (No.33) – a tale of a young girl who is dragged to India with her father. Emma Smith travelled to India, herself, in 1946 with a team of documentary filmmakers. Fellow writer, Laurie Lee (author of Cider with Rosie) was among this team.
  • The Edible Woman by Margaret Atwood – Marian is a determinedly ordinary woman who is waiting to get married to a fiancé she likes. However, Marian doesn’t count on an inner rebellion threatening to turn her world upside down. Published in 1965, The Edible Woman coincided with the women’s movement in North America, but is described as ‘protofeminist’ (which I will have to research before I read the book) as it anticipates second wave feminism.
  • Lady Oracle by Margaret Atwood – Joan Foster is a romance novelist who runs away from difficult situations in her life. She has just achieved major success with a book of feminist poetry, but someone has found out about her terrible secrets and uses this information to blackmail her.
  • The Children’s Book by AS Byatt – shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2009, The Children’s Book follows the lives of several inter-related families from the late nineteenth century up to the beginning of World War One.
  • Our Treacherous Hearts: Why Women Let Men Get Their Way by Rosalind Coward – published in 1992, this collection of essays explores the ‘hardline feminist point of view’ that ‘women have turned out to be a bit of a disappointment’ (Literary Review).

I think with New Year’s Resolutions on the way I will have to restrain myself from buying any more books so I can give myself a chance of making a dent in my TBR pile in 2014. I have been looking at challenges for the new year that may help with this but I am still undecided as to which one’s to sign up for. There are just too many good challenges about and I, unfortunately, don’t have the time to do all of them!

4 Replies to “Secondhand Finds!”

  1. Lovely finds and I’m not surprised you couldn’t resist them. I own The Far Cry but I haven’t read it; the Atwoods are of course wonderful!

    1. Yes I definitely have a lot of books to choose from over the Christmas period! Lets hope I get some reading done. I look forward to reading the Atwood books.

Leave a Reply

