Hatchard’s Bookshop, Piccadilly

IMG_2747

It was my day off today and I really wanted to get up to Hatchard’s Bookshop in Piccadilly – one of the oldest bookshops in London, not to mention the booksellers to the one and only Royal Household! It is a bit embarrassing that I have only recently been alerted to this bookshop when my sister bought me a signed copy of Eleanor Catton’s Man Booker Prize winning second novel, The Luminaries (which I am steadily pacing my way through at the moment and may explain why there is a lack of book reviews on my blog).

IMG_2748

Anyway, I have been searching for a new copy of Emily Brontë’s Wuthering Heights as my original copy is battered and bruised with numerous reads and re-reads. Also, the type in my original copy is extremely small and I wanted to upgrade to a nicer, easier-on-the-eyes version. I first read Wuthering Heights when I was about twelve years old and was mesmerised by the powerful, dark imagery of the heights and of Catherine Earnshaw and Heathcliffe. Since then I have read Wuthering Heights about three times (probably the only book I have re-read for pleasure other than Harry Potter!) and I have watched almost all of the adaptations (apart from the most recent re-make in 2011) starting from the original 1939 film starring Laurence Olivier. I think it is safe to say that Wuthering Heights is definitely one of my all-time favourite novels.

In Hatchard’s there were a number of different versions, from hardbacks to paperbacks, and, in the end, I was torn between the Penguin Clothbound Classic version or the Everyman’s Library Version. I decided on the latter as I thought it would keep better due to having a dust jacket.

IMG_2756

‘Everyman,

I will go with thee,

And be thy guide,

In thy most need

To go by thy side’

I can’t wait to re-read one of my favourite novels in a brand new edition and, just as the Everyman’s Library motto above (taken from Boswell’s Life of Samuel Johnson) promises, I’m sure this new version of Wuthering Heights will stay with me for the rest of my life.

2 Replies to “Hatchard’s Bookshop, Piccadilly”

  1. Beautiful! I am ashamed to admit I didn’t even know this bookshop existed. I must try and get there the next time I am in London.

    Wuthering Heights is one of my favourite books as well, I want to have a collection of different copies.

    1. Don’t worry I only found out about Hatchards a couple of weeks ago when my sister bought me a signed copy of The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton for my birthday!

Leave a Reply

