Happy Birthday to Me!

IMG_2652

Today is my birthday and like any true book lover I appear to have only asked for books (and book vouchers)! It has been a long time since I have bought or received brand new books and it has truly been delightful!

From my sisters I got some wonderful books (most of them I specifically asked for!):

  • The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton – the Man Booker Prize Winner of 2013. I have been desperate to get my hands on this brick of a novel but have been a bit strapped for cash recently. My birthday came at just the perfect time to satisfy this need! Also, I have noticed a lot of book bloggers are currently working their way through this enormous book so I have jumped on the band-wagon and started reading it straight away – I can already say, at only 30 or so pages in, that I am hooked!
  • The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey – this was the one surprise of the pile. Set in Alaska in the 1920s it tells the story of a coupe who have staked everything on a fresh start in the wilderness. The Snow Child was a Pultizer Prize finalist so I am looking forward to reading this one.
  • The Merman by Carl-Johan Vallgren – I was only alerted to this novel after reading a wonderful review over at Kaggsy’s Bookish Ramblings (you can read her review here). This is one of the joys of having a blog, you get to find out about books you never would have done before!
  • Helga’s Diary: A Young Girl’s Account of Life in a Concentration Camp by Helga Weiss – this was one of the books I saw when I was in Berlin, which I really wanted to buy. It is a true account, based on the notebooks that Helga tried to keep in a concentration camp in Terezin. It is apparently one of the most vivid and comprehensive testimonies written during the Holocaust ever to have been recovered.

There was a nice surprise with my copy of The Luminaries. When I opened it I realised my sister had got me a signed copy!

IMG_2648

Along with these selection of books I was also spoilt with  a lovely box of Belgian chocolates, which I will leisurely eat whilst reading The Luminaries later this evening!

3 Replies to “Happy Birthday to Me!”

Leave a Reply

