The Classics Club Spin #4!

As I have recently joined The Classics Club, which is a challenge to read at least 50 classics in the space of 5 years, I thought the fourth Classics Club Spin would be the perfect opportunity to get the ball rolling.

The rules are as follows:

  • Pick twenty books from your Classics Club List and post that list on your blog before next Monday (18th November).
  • Next Monday a number will be chosen at random and the book on your list, which corresponds with the Classics Spin number, will be the book you read for November and December.
  • The challenge is to read the book and post your review by the 1st January!

So, here is my list of 20 books:

Re-reads:

1. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë (1847)

2. Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert (1857)

3. A Room with a View by E. M. Forster (1908)

4. Nadja by André Breton (1928)

5. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller (1961)

Books I am dreading:

6. Justine by Marquis de Sade (1791)

7. Bleak House by Charles Dickens (1853)

8. The Mill on the Floss by George Eliot (1860)

9. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo (1862)

10. Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov (1955)

Books I am looking forward to:

11. The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton (1920)

12. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley (1932)

13. The Outsider by Albert Camus (1942)

14. Animal Farm by George Orwell (1945)

15. The Mandarins by Simone de Beauvoir (1954)

Random (picked by my three-year-old niece!): 

16. Love in Excess by Eliza Haywood (1719)

17. Notes from the Underground by Fyodor Dostoyevsky (1864)

18. Nana by Émile Zola (1880)

19. Out of Africa by Karen Blixen, aka. Isak Dinesen (1937)

20. Cider with Rosie by Laurie Lee (1959)

12 Replies to “The Classics Club Spin #4!”

  1. I imagine you are dreading Bleak House for its size – it is daunting. But it’s a really great read! And I’ve never seen any of de Sade’s works on someone’s to-read list before, or in a review. Love that you got a three-year-old to pick the last five. 🙂

    1. Yeah that is exactly why I am dreading Bleak House! I did watch the BBC adaptation a few years back so I have a rough idea of the story (and I did love the adaptation!). I did a lot of research around de Sade’s work when I was ding my dissertation on Angela Carter (now a couple of years ago!) but have never read any of his stuff – he is quite a controversial figure and I don’t think I will enjoy the content of his work but I think it may help me understand Carter’s work a lot more.

      1. That’s the way I went about it too – I saw the BBC adaptation first which I adored, and then I read the book. I haven’t read any of Angela Carter’s books – what’s the connection between her books and de Sade?

      2. The most obvious work of Carter’s (I can think of) that directly links to de Sade is ‘The Sadeian Woman: An Exercise in Cultural History’, which is a piece of non-fiction that appraises de Sade’s work as liberating for female sexuality. I only read a few excerpts from ‘The Sadeian Woman’ when I was writing my dissertation and I think it would be interesting to read the whole polemic in the light of attempting to read some of de Sade’s work.

    1. I am a bit apprehensive about the size of Bleak House, which is why it is a book I am dreading! I can imagine having the same problem but I have watched the BBC adaptation and loved it so hopefully that will be the case when I attempt to read it (though, fingers-crossed, it won’t be for this spin!).

  2. I read Bleak House for a previous CC event…it was long, but I loved it. A lot of characters to get to know, but stick with, because they become like family after a while:-)

    1. I hope so! I think it’s more the content of ‘Lolita’ that I am dreading but I have been meaning to read it for ages so now is my chance!

Leave a Reply

