Secondhand Finds!

Once again my lovely little second hand bookshop, where I volunteer, has not failed to disappoint. This week I bought three books in all – one that I have been dying to get my hands on for ages, a Booker Prize winner and a book I probably should have read before but haven’t.

IMG_2153

  • Home by Marilynne Robinson – I discovered Robinson’s first novel, Housekeeping, whilst at university and found it such a haunting and beautiful read that I couldn’t wait to read her Orange Prize winning novel Home. Written roughly twenty-seven years after her first publication, Home is one of only three novels by Robinson.
  • The Gathering by Anne Enright – A Man Booker Prize winner in 2007 and likened on the cover to James Joyce’s Dubliners, I knew I had to quickly nab this book before anyone else could. The Gathering describes the secrets and betrayals of three generations of a large Irish family as they all gather in Dublin for the wake of a family member. I am particularly fond of Irish literature (I am half Irish myself), however, the only authors I have really come across are male, such as Joyce and Beckett, so it will be good to explore some female writer and if anyone has any recommendations I would definitely appreciate them!
  • The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner – Heralded as one of the most important works of American literature in the twentieth century, and a great modernist writer, it is strange that Faulkner and I have never crossed paths. The Sound and the Fury is another story about family relationships, which, for some reason, seems to be the theme of my book buying today!

I look forward to reading these books and will hopefully get round to them soon, though I am slightly worried about how many books I now have on my enormous TBR pile. I may have to create my own Book Jar, as invented by fellow blogger, Alex in Leeds. It is a wonderful way of picking, at random, a book off of your TBR list as sometimes I struggle to decide when I have too much choice!

One Reply to “Secondhand Finds!”

Leave a Reply

